Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Week 4 Done, Chafing!, and My Achy Breaky Knees

As usual, I have some highs and lows to report. Good news: I've completed week 4 of my training (yeah!), which means I'm now 1/3 of the way through. Week 4 was ok. My midweek runs were really tough, slow, and somewhat painful. I've come to realize that I should no longer ignore the pain in my knee, especially since my right knee has also started acting up. So, I went to the Dr. for a referral to a PT. Considering that my copay for PT is $50 a pop, I think I'm going to go to San Luis Sports Therapy instead and do a cash pay program for only $40 a session. I have an appointment next Thursday and am very curious what she has to say. I'm hoping I can continue on with my training program and get some education and strength training tips. I know that I could run much faster and better if I weren't in pain (duh!).

Great news is that I joined a running group (5 Cities Runners) which is an all women's running group. I ran with them for the first time for my long run last Saturday. I was really nervous, especially since my midweek runs were so slow and difficult, and I knew I needed to log 7 miles (the most so far). But, they were really great. Running with friends made the miles go by so much faster. I struggled a bit for the first few miles and felt bad because I felt like I was slowing them down, but they were really patient and positive with me and after about mile 4 I was able to pick up the pace a bit and keep up with them. And I DID IT!! 7 miles seems really far. But I did it! It felt so great and my recovery was pretty good even though my right knee is starting to protest a bit too now.  It's nice to have people to run with when I want, although I think sometimes I'll still really enjoy running alone. Janice is also running the Half marathon in October and our training plans are very similar so we should be able to keep each other motivated.

Another milestone I hit this week:  I got my first chafing rash! I know most people get really bummed out about chafing, but I have to say I was secretly a little excited (weird, I know) but I kind of feel that it is a rite of passage for runners. Does this mean I am now a "real" runner? Have I now joined the club of "real" runners because I have experienced chafing?!  Of course, I went right out and bought my first bar of Body Glide and use it with pride now!

Mileage Goal for last week: 15
Actual Miles: 15
Roadkill count: ?? Was too busy chatting with my new running friends to keep track!

Sunday, August 11, 2013

Ups and Downs

Hi again! I just completed week 3 of my training and I think it's going pretty well, although this week included some highs (as in runner's high) and lows (as in, "...do I really have to do this run?").  Last weekend we had some really great friends stay for the weekend. We had a blast, which included lots of lobster eating, wine drinking, s'more roasting, etc. It was awesome. But it kinda put a kink in my running enthusiasm.  I had told my friend ahead of time that I needed to run 5 miles while she was here and she was totally cool with it, but I still felt funny about taking off for an hour to do my run. So that, combined with the fact that I had a teensy bit of a hangover on Saturday morning, was why I put my run off until Sunday morning. I didn't expect to have a good run. I just went out thinking I'd put in the miles and chalk this one up as one of the "not so great" ones. And what do you know, I ended up with a P.R for pace. Yes, that's right, I ran my best pace ever (well, since I started keeping track of that sort of thing)! I couldn't believe it. I felt awesome and was really proud of myself for sticking with my training.

So, that was one of the "ups" in my week; now for the downs. The day after my super duper long run, I kicked into full gear to get ready for a family camping trip the next day. I suppose it may have been that my focus was elsewhere, but I just didn't have the excitement and enthusiasm for running the rest of the week. I maaaaaade myself run on Wednesday (4 miles of drudgery) and then tried to put in a few miles at the campground on Friday (was supposed to run 4 but only ran about 2). I gave up after my phone died and I had no idea where I was. That and the carload of heckling idiots I encountered sorta killed the deal, so I threw it in and headed back to the campsite. So, I missed a short run and didn't even try for any cross training activities this week. I guess that left me feeling a little out of touch with my program.

But, as the saying goes, "What goes down, must come up," (yeah, I know that's not how it goes, but it's pretty much always true, too). So here we are on Sunday evening and I just completed my longest run yet - 6.24 miles (was supposed to be 6 but the dumb Nike+ guy never told me my run was finished!). It was a good run. Not my best, but it was good enough to get my head back in the game and remind me why I'm doing this - because it feels great and I can't believe I just ran 6 friggin miles after coming home from a really great but really exhausting camping trip!

Another little reminder of why I'm doing this half marathon thing came up this week. Actually, it's a big reason, but it came from a little person.  I was driving in the car with my 5 year old son and we passed a caravan of army trucks, which he loves. He asked me if Army guys die and I explained that sometimes they do because they are very brave and sometimes have to go to battle. I reminded him that my Dad was an army guy and Aidan said, "I know and he died." And I explained that yes, my dad did die, but not from being an army guy. My dad died 10 years ago from a sudden heart attack. He was 57 years old. Heart disease runs in my family. Big time. I have it coming at me from both sides. Obviously I like the health benefits I get from running. It's part of the reason I decided to train for a half marathon, although mostly I wanted to do something to challenge myself. Thanks to my 5 year old for giving me even more incentive to do this.  It was a great teachable moment for us. I got to emphasize to him how important it is to take care of our bodies (eat right, exercise, etc) and I didn't even have to feel like a hypocrite!

Also, I just realized I'm a quarter of the way through my training! I'm not sure how I feel about that. On one hand, it's so exciting to be a quarter of the way to my goal, but on the other hand, I just ran almost a half of a half marathon tonight and I can't imagine having to do that once over. But, I guess that's what the rest of my training is for. One day, one mile at a time, right? I also think it's kind of crazy that my "short" runs were 4 miles this week. Not so long ago, 4 miles sooooo far (as in, "I don't know if I could ever run 4 miles!").

Roadkill count this week: 2, which unfortunately included a beautiful owl who looked like he probably had a wingspan as long as mine.

Miles run this week: 12

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

The Journey Begins...or, What in the World was I Thinking!

So, since I made the giant leap and registered for my first half marathon, I've been reading a lot about running and training and injuries and gear and anything else related to this crazy idea of mine and one of the things that keeps coming up is that you should journal about your experience. That's what this blog is meant to be.  Simply a place to jot down my thoughts and record my progress so that I can come back to it later and laugh about reflect upon all of my experiences. And, if some other brave soul decides to take upon the challenge of training for a half marathon and stumbles upon my humble thoughts, I'd be thrilled to know I helped someone else along the way.

Let me go back to the beginning and explain how this all started. This past March, a friend of mine asked if I'd like to run a 5K with her. I had done a few races in my 20's, but nothing since. I do not consider myself an athlete. I didn't play sports as a kid and I don't seem to have a competitive bone in my body. But, when she asked me to join her, I thought, sure...I can run 3 miles...right?  In preparation for the race, which was one month away, I ran exactly twice. I ran two miles without stopping and it was hard. Really hard. But I told myself that the energy and excitement on the day of the event would get me through that extra mile and I would be fine. And I was. But it was hard. Too hard.

The evening before the 5K, which was also associated with a  half marathon, I went to the expo to pick up my bib. There was so much positive energy and I found myself envying those in line for the half marathon. They got green shirts. We lowly 5K'ers got blue shirts. I found myself wanting a green shirt. I wanted to be a part of that special group of people who run so far that most people say "Oh, I could never do that!"

I also must say, that I turned 40 last year and while I am healthy and in fairly good shape, I certainly haven't been putting my health and well-being at the top of my list for quite some time. I have 3 little kids, I'm a stay-at-home mom, and somehow,  things like exercise have so easily been tossed aside. But something about that magic number (40) made me stop and take stock of my situation. Yep, getting older is a given. Nothin I can do about that. But feeling old...well that's something I can do something about. So why not train for and run a half marathon? What an incredible accomplishment that would be.

So the following week, I did a little research and found a half marathon in my area in October and, following the advice of others, I bit the bullet and registered. I think this was great advice. I may not be a competitive person, but once I commit to something (especially if it involves a $70 registration fee) I usually hold myself accountable and stick with it.  So far, so good. It's now the end of July and I'm in the middle of week 2 of my official training program. Up to this point, I have been running consistently, gradually building up endurance and discovering in the process that because it is my only chance to be alone and feel completely free,  I LOVE RUNNING! I never in a million years thought those words would leave my mouth. I was one of those people who, when I encountered a runner, would  to say, "Oh, I wish I could run." What malarkey. I'm embarrassed that I used to actually say that to people. What I found out is that just about anyone can run. I think the mistake people make (which is exactly what I did) was to one day lace up your running shoes and go out and try to be a "runner."  But running, like most other sports, is something you have to practice. So, this time I did it right. I started slow (like, S-L-O-W) and am gradually building up.

Well, that's the back story. I'm really looking forward to the rest of the journey! Oh, and I decided to call my blog, "Dodging Roadkill," because I often run on country roads and have been absolutely amazed at how much roadkill there is out there. I literally had to dodge several carcasses during my 4 mile run last Saturday. Perhaps this was an anomaly, but I thought it quite fitting and symbolic of the fact that training for a big event like this is likely to present a person with many obstacles along the way...lovely analogy, I know, but that's what I came up with! Deep thoughts...this is what happens when you run!

Cheers!